Home / Helpdesk & CX apps

Helpdesk & CX appsComparison2026

Intercom vs tawk.to: which fits your store?

Last verified 2026-08-29

Intercom and tawk.to are both helpdesk & cx app tools compared here on pricing verified 2026-08-29, published plans, App Store standing, and themes from recent merchant reviews. tawk.to starts cheaper (free vs $0.99/mo); tawk.to has a free tier, Intercom does not. On the Shopify App Store, Intercom holds 4.6 ★ across 16 reviews and tawk.to holds 3.6 ★ across 55. tawk.to: These reviews suggest the app fits merchants who want a low-cost live chat tool with broad customization and are comfortable managing settings outside Shopify admin. — from tracked pricing and recent App Store review analysis.

How do Intercom and tawk.to compare?

Intercomtawk.to
App Store rating4.6 ★ (16 reviews)3.6 ★ (55 reviews)
Price from$0.99/mofree
Free tier ✗ no ✓ yes
Published plans76
Data confidencehighhigh
App Store rating
Intercom 4.6 ★
tawk.to 3.6 ★
→ Intercom rates higher
Review volume
Intercom 16
tawk.to 55
→ tawk.to has the larger base

What would you actually pay?

Intercom plans

PlanMonthlyLimits / notes
Essential $0.99 per Fin outcome; other usage-based charges apply for email campaigns, SMS, WhatsApp, and Phone; 1 Full seat minimum.
Advanced $0.99 per Fin outcome; includes 20 free Lite seats; other usage-based charges apply for email campaigns, SMS, WhatsApp, and Phone; 1 Full seat minimum.
Expert $0.99 per Fin outcome; includes 50 free Lite seats; other usage-based charges apply for email campaigns, SMS, WhatsApp, and Phone; 1 Full seat minimum.
Fin AI Agent for existing helpdesk $0.99 $0.99 per resolved outcome, charged at most once per conversation; minimum monthly commitment applies, with 50 outcomes given as an example; no seats required.
Pro add-on $99 Includes analysis of 1,000 conversations per month and 2,000 Operator credits per month; additional credits cost $0.01 each; included credits scale with conversation volume.
Copilot add-on $35 Unlimited paid usage; every agent also receives 10 Copilot conversations and 10 AI Auto-translation conversations free per month.
Proactive Support Plus add-on $99 Includes 500 messages per month; additional messages are charged per unit.

All displayed prices are in USD. Core seat prices appear under the billed-annually selection.

Verified 2026-08-29 from vendor pricing page.

tawk.to plans

PlanMonthlyLimits / notes
Core tawk.to software $0 Free forever; includes Live Chat, Chat Pages, Knowledge Base, Ticketing, Contacts/CRM, and related communication tools.
Remove Branding $29 Removes the "Powered by tawk.to" branding from products.
AI Assist Free $0 Intended for sites with limited chat volume; exact limit not stated.
AI Assist Paid $29 Starts at $29/month; higher-tier scaling and limits are not stated.
Hire Chat Agents $0 $1 per hour of professionally trained human live-agent service.
Virtual Assistants $0 Starts at $7 per hour for dedicated resources.

All stated prices are in USD.

Verified 2026-08-29 from vendor pricing page.

Which features does each include?

FeatureIntercomtawk.to

Extracted from each vendor's App Store listing (2026-07-20); "—" = not stated there. Verify tier availability on vendor pricing pages.

What do merchants say about them?

No review analysis yet for Intercom.

tawk.to

Sentiment is sharply mixed: older reviews are often positive about the app being free, capable, and useful for direct customer chats, while recent reviews skew negative. The main friction points are support responsiveness, uninstall or configuration problems, and widget behavior that merchants feel is difficult to control.

  • Feature-rich chat — Merchants often value the live chat capabilities, customization options, visitor context, media sharing, notifications, scheduling, and mobile access.
  • Free or strong value — Several reviewers highlight that the app delivers useful chat functionality without requiring a paid plan.
  • Customer communication — Positive reviews say the app helps merchants engage shoppers while they are actively browsing or ready to buy.
  • Helpful support — Some merchants report prompt or hands-on support, including guidance through setup and questions.
  • Poor or delayed support — Multiple negative reviews say support is hard to reach, slow to respond, or routed through AI or scheduled meetings instead of immediate human help.
  • Installation or removal issues — Several merchants report widgets or code remaining after uninstalling, configuration not applying, or the app no longer opening correctly.
  • Widget behavior and controls — Reviewers mention intrusive default sounds, automatic popups, misplaced buttons, limited icon customization, and settings that are hard to manage.

Watch out: The most common caveat is that setup, removal, and support follow-up may be frustrating when something goes wrong.

Synthesized from the 20 most recent App Store reviews (2026-07-16); themes paraphrased.

FAQ

Which is cheaper, Intercom or tawk.to?

tawk.to starts lower at free, vs $0.99/mo for Intercom (verified 2026-08-29).

Does Intercom or tawk.to have a free plan?

tawk.to has a free tier; Intercom does not publish one.

Which is rated higher on the Shopify App Store?

Intercom rates higher at 4.6 ★, vs 3.6 ★ — though both counts matter: Intercom has 16 reviews and tawk.to has 55.

How we compare: pricing and plans are collected automatically from vendor pages on a schedule and shown with verification dates; ratings come from the Shopify App Store; merchant sentiment is synthesized from the most recent App Store reviews (paraphrased, never quoted). We currently have no affiliate relationship with either vendor. Found an error? The data snapshot behind this page is dated — check the vendor's page for same-day changes.

Related comparisons

Intercom vs Crisp · Intercom vs Gorgias · Intercom vs Re:amaze · Intercom vs Richpanel · Intercom vs Tidio · Intercom vs Zendesk