Home / Helpdesk & CX apps

Helpdesk & CX appsComparison2026

Crisp vs tawk.to: which fits your store?

Last verified 2026-08-29

Crisp and tawk.to are both helpdesk & cx app tools compared here on pricing verified 2026-08-29, published plans, App Store standing, and themes from recent merchant reviews. Both are priced in the same range — the decision comes down to features and fit. tawk.to: These reviews suggest the app fits merchants who want a low-cost live chat tool with broad customization and are comfortable managing settings outside Shopify admin. — from tracked pricing and recent App Store review analysis.

How do Crisp and tawk.to compare?

Crisptawk.to
App Store rating3.6 ★ (55 reviews)
Price fromfreefree
Free tier ✓ yes ✓ yes
Published plans56
Data confidencehighhigh

What would you actually pay?

Crisp plans

PlanMonthlyLimits / notes
Free $0 2 seats, no AI credits included. 100 customer profiles max.
Mini $45 4 seats included, ~90 automated conversations, $5 AI credits. 5,000 customer profiles max.
Essentials $95 10 seats included, ~450 automated conversations, $25 AI credits. 50,000 customer profiles max.
Plus $295 20+ seats included, ~1350 automated conversations, $75 AI credits. 200,000 customer profiles max.
Enterprise Custom, unlimited conversations

USD. VAT not included in advertised prices; may apply to consumers and non-EU businesses. Yearly payment option available but annual rates not displayed on pricing page.

Verified 2026-08-08 from vendor pricing page.

tawk.to plans

PlanMonthlyLimits / notes
Core tawk.to software $0 Free forever; includes Live Chat, Chat Pages, Knowledge Base, Ticketing, Contacts/CRM, and related communication tools.
Remove Branding $29 Removes the "Powered by tawk.to" branding from products.
AI Assist Free $0 Intended for sites with limited chat volume; exact limit not stated.
AI Assist Paid $29 Starts at $29/month; higher-tier scaling and limits are not stated.
Hire Chat Agents $0 $1 per hour of professionally trained human live-agent service.
Virtual Assistants $0 Starts at $7 per hour for dedicated resources.

All stated prices are in USD.

Verified 2026-08-29 from vendor pricing page.

Which features does each include?

FeatureCrisptawk.to

Extracted from each vendor's App Store listing (2026-07-20); "—" = not stated there. Verify tier availability on vendor pricing pages.

What do merchants say about them?

No review analysis yet for Crisp.

tawk.to

Sentiment is sharply mixed: older reviews are often positive about the app being free, capable, and useful for direct customer chats, while recent reviews skew negative. The main friction points are support responsiveness, uninstall or configuration problems, and widget behavior that merchants feel is difficult to control.

  • Feature-rich chat — Merchants often value the live chat capabilities, customization options, visitor context, media sharing, notifications, scheduling, and mobile access.
  • Free or strong value — Several reviewers highlight that the app delivers useful chat functionality without requiring a paid plan.
  • Customer communication — Positive reviews say the app helps merchants engage shoppers while they are actively browsing or ready to buy.
  • Helpful support — Some merchants report prompt or hands-on support, including guidance through setup and questions.
  • Poor or delayed support — Multiple negative reviews say support is hard to reach, slow to respond, or routed through AI or scheduled meetings instead of immediate human help.
  • Installation or removal issues — Several merchants report widgets or code remaining after uninstalling, configuration not applying, or the app no longer opening correctly.
  • Widget behavior and controls — Reviewers mention intrusive default sounds, automatic popups, misplaced buttons, limited icon customization, and settings that are hard to manage.

Watch out: The most common caveat is that setup, removal, and support follow-up may be frustrating when something goes wrong.

Synthesized from the 20 most recent App Store reviews (2026-07-16); themes paraphrased.

FAQ

Which is cheaper, Crisp or tawk.to?

Both start at free (verified 2026-08-29).

Does Crisp or tawk.to have a free plan?

Both offer free tiers.

Which is rated higher on the Shopify App Store?

App Store ratings are shown in the table above where available.

How we compare: pricing and plans are collected automatically from vendor pages on a schedule and shown with verification dates; ratings come from the Shopify App Store; merchant sentiment is synthesized from the most recent App Store reviews (paraphrased, never quoted). We currently have no affiliate relationship with either vendor. Found an error? The data snapshot behind this page is dated — check the vendor's page for same-day changes.

Related comparisons

Crisp vs Gorgias · Crisp vs Intercom · Crisp vs Re:amaze · Crisp vs Richpanel · Crisp vs Tidio · Crisp vs Zendesk