Home / Helpdesk & CX apps

Helpdesk & CX appsComparison2026

Re:amaze vs tawk.to: which fits your store?

Last verified 2026-08-29

Re:amaze and tawk.to are both helpdesk & cx app tools compared here on pricing verified 2026-08-29, published plans, App Store standing, and themes from recent merchant reviews. tawk.to starts cheaper (free vs $29/mo); tawk.to has a free tier, Re:amaze does not. On the Shopify App Store, Re:amaze holds 4.5 ★ across 142 reviews and tawk.to holds 3.6 ★ across 55. Re:amaze: These reviews suggest the app fits Shopify merchants that want a feature-rich helpdesk with hands-on onboarding, centralized customer conversations, and practical automation across common support channels. tawk.to: These reviews suggest the app fits merchants who want a low-cost live chat tool with broad customization and are comfortable managing settings outside Shopify admin. — from tracked pricing and recent App Store review analysis.

How do Re:amaze and tawk.to compare?

Re:amazetawk.to
App Store rating4.5 ★ (142 reviews)3.6 ★ (55 reviews)
Price from$29/mofree
Free tier ✗ no ✓ yes
Published plans46
Data confidencehighhigh
App Store rating
Re:amaze 4.5 ★
tawk.to 3.6 ★
→ Re:amaze rates higher
Review volume
Re:amaze 142
tawk.to 55
→ Re:amaze has the larger base

What would you actually pay?

Re:amaze plans

PlanMonthlyLimits / notes
Basic $29 Per team member. AI Agent: 5 resolutions/month included, $0.85 per additional.
Pro $49 Per team member. AI Agent: 10 resolutions/month included, $0.85 per additional.
Plus $69 Per team member. AI Agent: 20 resolutions/month included, $0.85 per additional.
Starter $59 Flat rate for unlimited team members. Limited to 500 Responded Conversations per month.

Verified 2026-08-08 from vendor pricing page.

tawk.to plans

PlanMonthlyLimits / notes
Core tawk.to software $0 Free forever; includes Live Chat, Chat Pages, Knowledge Base, Ticketing, Contacts/CRM, and related communication tools.
Remove Branding $29 Removes the "Powered by tawk.to" branding from products.
AI Assist Free $0 Intended for sites with limited chat volume; exact limit not stated.
AI Assist Paid $29 Starts at $29/month; higher-tier scaling and limits are not stated.
Hire Chat Agents $0 $1 per hour of professionally trained human live-agent service.
Virtual Assistants $0 Starts at $7 per hour for dedicated resources.

All stated prices are in USD.

Verified 2026-08-29 from vendor pricing page.

Which features does each include?

FeatureRe:amazetawk.to

Extracted from each vendor's App Store listing (2026-07-20); "—" = not stated there. Verify tier availability on vendor pricing pages.

What do merchants say about them?

Re:amaze

Sentiment in this sample is mostly positive, especially around onboarding, support, ease of use, and the breadth of helpdesk features. The strongest negative reviews come from merchants with complex channel, AI, or integration requirements who felt support did not resolve core issues quickly enough.

  • Responsive support and onboarding — Merchants frequently credit the support team with fast answers, patient walkthroughs, useful demos, and help during setup or migration.
  • Broad helpdesk feature set — Reviewers value having chat, email, social, voice, Shopify data, workflows, FAQs, automation, and AI-related options in one platform.
  • Ease of setup and daily use — Many merchants describe setup, migration, and agent workflows as straightforward, with an interface their teams can use efficiently.
  • Centralized multichannel support — Several reviews praise the ability to consolidate customer conversations across channels, brands, stores, and teams.
  • Weak AI for complex stores — A few merchants say the AI is not effective enough for multi-store, multilingual, or more advanced ecommerce support needs.
  • Support failures on unresolved issues — Negative reviews describe repeated contacts, delayed escalation, or unhelpful responses when bugs or setup problems arose.
  • Channel and integration gaps — Several complaints mention problems with Facebook replies, WhatsApp templates, ShipStation sorting, attachment filtering, or merging conversations across channels.

Watch out: Merchants with complex AI, multilingual, WhatsApp, Facebook, or advanced integration needs should validate those workflows carefully before investing heavily in setup.

Synthesized from the 20 most recent App Store reviews (2026-07-16); themes paraphrased.

tawk.to

Sentiment is sharply mixed: older reviews are often positive about the app being free, capable, and useful for direct customer chats, while recent reviews skew negative. The main friction points are support responsiveness, uninstall or configuration problems, and widget behavior that merchants feel is difficult to control.

  • Feature-rich chat — Merchants often value the live chat capabilities, customization options, visitor context, media sharing, notifications, scheduling, and mobile access.
  • Free or strong value — Several reviewers highlight that the app delivers useful chat functionality without requiring a paid plan.
  • Customer communication — Positive reviews say the app helps merchants engage shoppers while they are actively browsing or ready to buy.
  • Helpful support — Some merchants report prompt or hands-on support, including guidance through setup and questions.
  • Poor or delayed support — Multiple negative reviews say support is hard to reach, slow to respond, or routed through AI or scheduled meetings instead of immediate human help.
  • Installation or removal issues — Several merchants report widgets or code remaining after uninstalling, configuration not applying, or the app no longer opening correctly.
  • Widget behavior and controls — Reviewers mention intrusive default sounds, automatic popups, misplaced buttons, limited icon customization, and settings that are hard to manage.

Watch out: The most common caveat is that setup, removal, and support follow-up may be frustrating when something goes wrong.

Synthesized from the 20 most recent App Store reviews (2026-07-16); themes paraphrased.

FAQ

Which is cheaper, Re:amaze or tawk.to?

tawk.to starts lower at free, vs $29/mo for Re:amaze (verified 2026-08-29).

Does Re:amaze or tawk.to have a free plan?

tawk.to has a free tier; Re:amaze does not publish one.

Which is rated higher on the Shopify App Store?

Re:amaze rates higher at 4.5 ★, vs 3.6 ★ — though both counts matter: Re:amaze has 142 reviews and tawk.to has 55.

How we compare: pricing and plans are collected automatically from vendor pages on a schedule and shown with verification dates; ratings come from the Shopify App Store; merchant sentiment is synthesized from the most recent App Store reviews (paraphrased, never quoted). We currently have no affiliate relationship with either vendor. Found an error? The data snapshot behind this page is dated — check the vendor's page for same-day changes.

Related comparisons

Re:amaze vs Crisp · Re:amaze vs Gorgias · Re:amaze vs Intercom · Re:amaze vs Richpanel · Re:amaze vs Tidio · Re:amaze vs Zendesk